Jul 10

Jiggs Whigham – Values (1971/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 38:48 minutes | 709 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Front cover | © MPS

A major trombonist who is quite versatile, Jiggs Whigham has thus far not received the recognition that he deserves, possibly because he has spent a lot of time performing in Germany.

Born in Cleveland Ohio in 1943, Jiggs Whigham began playing professionally at 17; by the age of 20 he occupied the first trombone chair with Stan Kenton, moved onto Maynard Ferguson’s band, and then to Cologne Germany in 1965 where he immediately found work with Kurt Edelhagen’s popular big band. Jiggs went on to become an international name, both as a player and as an educator – his playing credits read like a telephone book of jazz greats from Cannonball Adderley to Joe Zawinul. The crack quartet on this 1971 album includes the Swiss jazz pioneer, pianist George Gruntz and the quality bass and drums of Austrian great J. A. Rettenbacher and American Tony Inzalaco. Everyone gets a say on the urbane up-tempo Values, as Jiggs electronically divides his playing into two octaves and Gruntz solos on electric keyboard. The group composition Result wends its way down its modal path led by Jigg’s crystal-clear tone – sparkling bass and piano solos on this acoustic gem. The rocking blues Dance of the Magic Eggs has the band back in electric mode with Jigg’s funky synth solo, along with e-bass and e-piano. The band takes a warm, relaxed Brazilian detour on Gemini Samba, and then journeys home to a lush, soulful version of Am I Blue, the song first made famous by Ethel Waters, and covered by everyone from Billy Holiday to Cher. Jiggs is a minor-key modal tour de force, highlighted by Whigham’s passionate synth-enhanced solo. One of Jigg’s best recordings.

01 – Values
Jiggs Whigham – [Values CD1 #02 – Result
03 – Dance of the Magic Eggs
04 – Gemini Samba
05 – Am I Blue
06 – Jiggs

Produced by Willi Fruth. Engineered Rolf Donner.
Recorded in March 1971 at MPS-Tonstudio, Villingen, Germany.

Jiggs Whigham – trombone
George Gruntz – piano, Fender Rhodes
J.A. Rettenbacher – double bass
Tony Inzalaco – drums

Continue reading »

Jul 10

Kristin Berardi – Where Or When (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 56:26 minutes | 521 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | Label: ABC Jazz

Kristin Berardi is acknowledged as one of Australia’s finest jazz singers. Twice winner of the Australian Bell Award for Best Jazz Vocal Album, Kristin has toured extensively throughout Australia and internationally – and now presents her new album, recorded with a hand-picked band of homegrown musicians.

Where or When is a collection of songs that showcase Berardi’s astonishing vocal talents. The intimacy of the band is heightened by the decision to record without drums, anchoring the album’s sound in Sam Anning’s rich bass.

01 – Where or When
02 – Lucky 13
03 – Suzanne
04 – Born to Be Blue
05 – Brad
06 – Unity Village
07 – Cool Baby
08 – Limbo
09 – Is It Ok for Clowns to Cry?
10 – Young at Heart

Continue reading »

Jul 10

Kristin Rule – The Knife That Cuts A Tear (2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:57 minutes | 485 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Artwork: Front cover

Kristin Rule are cellist/composer/looper from Australia. Her release, ‘The Knife that Cuts a Tear’, is reaching deep into the hearts and minds of listeners from all walks of life. A composition graduate from the Victorian College of the Arts, Kristin has found her voice in the form of a cello and a loopstation. In performance, her original compositions are created live, layer by layer, mesmerising audiences with exquisite melodies, rich harmonies and beautifully raw sonorities.

01 – Clarity
02 – Power
03 – Insight
04 – Self
05 – Impermanence
06 – Ending Illusions
07 – Affirmation
08 – Nature of Reality
09 – The Knife that Cuts a Tear

Produced by Kristin Rule with assistance from Christian Bianco.
Recorded and Mixed by Christian Bianco, Easy Tiger Studios.
Mastered by Lachlan Carrick, Moose Mastering.

Kristin Rule – Cello (& Viola on ‘Impermanence’)
Sam Lohs- Voice (on ‘The Knife that Cuts a Tear’)

Continue reading »

Page 1 of 11