Jun 18

Brett Eldredge – Glow (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:45 minutes | 444 MB | Genre: Holiday
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital Booklet  © Atlantic Nashville

“I’ve been inspired for this record from a very young age,” said Eldredge. “I dreamt of the day I could record all these classic songs that I’ve loved since I was a little kid. I recorded those classics in New York City and tried to give a tip of the hat to the ones that came before me – Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Ray Charles – by adding that swing and that soul to the best of my ability. When it came to actually recording, I wanted to live in the experience. We hung Christmas lights in the studio in the middle of May and had musicians from the best bands in the world all in the same room – from horns to strings. Everyone was so inspired to make this classic record. I think it really shows in the songs and I can’t wait for people to hear that magic we found.”

Abandoning all modern trappings, Brett Eldredge chooses to go the full Frank Sinatra on his 2016 seasonal affair Glow. Leaving behind the R&B rhythms that underpin his hit singles is a bit of a risky move for Eldredge, as it pushes the spotlight directly onto his vocals. Eldredge may not take many risks on Glow — he’s determined to adhere to string-saturated tradition, so he never plays with his phrasing — but he’s warm and charming, which gives him enough swagger to ride the snazzy big-band arrangements on Glow. Often, these tunes — everything is familiar apart from the newly written title track, which is designed to pass without notice among the standards — are so overheated they suggest a Vegas revue, but that’s also the appeal of Glow. Eldredge plays with the schlockiest aspects of show biz, but his tongue is never in his cheek: he believes in this bluster, and that’s the fun of Glow. (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, allmusic.com)


01. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
02. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (feat. Meghan Trainor)
03. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
04. The Christmas Song
05. Glow
06. White Christmas
07. Winter Wonderland
08. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
09. Silent Night
10. It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas
11. The First Noel

Continue reading »

Apr 02

Andy Williams – Merry Christmas (1965/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:58 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Pop, Holiday
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © Columbia

“Merry Christmas” is a Christmas album by American pop singer Andy Williams that was released by Columbia Records in 1965. This, his second holiday LP, is focused exclusively on 20th century compositions, unlike 1963’s The Andy Williams Christmas Album, which, of its 12 tracks, had six with origins predating the turn of the century. For the six consecutive holiday seasons from 1965 through 1970, Merry Christmas charted on Billboard magazine’s special year-end weekly Christmas Albums sales chart. The album spent two weeks as the number one selling Christmas album during the holiday season of 1966 and one week atop that same chart in 1969. The single from the album, “Do You Hear What I Hear?”, reached number 18 on the Christmas Singles chart in 1965. On May 23, 1968, Merry Christmas was certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America for sales of 500,000 copies in the United States. Platinum certification for sales of one million copies followed on November 10, 1989.

01. “Sleigh Ride” (02:09)
(Leroy Anderson, Mitchell Parish)
02. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” (03:23)
(Ralph Blane, Hugh Martin)
03. “Winter Wonderland” (02:09)
(Felix Bernard, Richard B. Smith)
04. “My Favorite Things” (02:25)
(Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers)
05. “Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!” (02:16)
(Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne)
06. “Christmas Holiday” (01:51)
(Craig Vincent Smith)
07. “Some Children See Him” (03:21)
(Alfred Burt, Wihla Hutson)
08. “Do You Hear What I Hear?” (02:51)
(Gloria Shayne Baker, No?l Regney)
09. “Little Altar Boy” (04:59)
(Howlett Peter Smith)
10. “Silver Bells” (03:09)
(Ray Evans, Jay Livingston)
11. “Mary’s Little Boy Child” (03:53)
(Jester Hairston)
12. “The Bells of St. Mary’s” (02:36)
(A. Emmett Adams, Douglas Furber)

Continue reading »

Page 1 of 11