May 18

Matthew Lien – Arctic Refuge (2004)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 47:04 minutes | Scans included | 3,07 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 890 MB
Genre: New Age

Matthew Carl Lien is a Yukon, Canada based World music singer-songwriter and producer. His primary lyrical and musical focus is on environmental and cultural themes. Preferring his native San Diego to Los Angeles, he discovered Signature Sound recording studios in San Diego, California, which is owned by his friend and musician/producer Luis Arteaga whom he met earlier at Mix Masters, where he recorded most of his albums to date, with the exception of his Hybrid SACD “Arctic Refuge” which was recorded at Bryan Adams’ Warehouse Studio in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. He now has a fan base of millions in Taiwan and China, where he is known for his environmental music and his work with aboriginal and traditional cultures.

01. Among The Rafters Of The Earth
02. Currents
03. Under Mountain and Valley
04. Moon Over Crow Mountain – Intro
05. Moon Over Crow Mountain
06. A Perilous Trek
07. The Journey Home
08. Renewal
09. One River To The Sea
10. Whales
11. Heart Of The Refuge

All music compositions, Lyrics and Arrangements by Matthew Lien.
Produced by Matthew Lien. Recording Engineer (Stereo & 5.1): Michael W. Harris.
Recorded and Mixed in June and July of 2003 at the Warehouse Studio, Vancouver B.C., Canada.
Editing and Authoring by Lon Neumann of the Sony SACD Project, Hollywood, California.
Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, California.

Field recordings of the Alaskan and Canadian arctic gathered by Matthew Lien during arctic expeditions from 1994 to 2002.
Additional beluga and narwhal recordings provided by John К. В. Ford of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Continue reading »

May 15

The Cars – The Cars (1978) [MFSL 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 35:19 minutes | Scans included | 1,44 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 715 MB
Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab # 2162 | Genre: New Wave

The Cars’ 1978 self-titled debut, issued on the Elektra label, is a genuine rock masterpiece. The band jokingly referred to the album as their “true greatest-hits album”, but it’s no exaggeration – all nine tracks are new wave/rock classics, still in rotation on rock radio. Whereas most bands of the late ’70s embraced either punk/new wave or hard rock, the Cars were one of the first bands to do the unthinkable – merge the two styles together. Add to it bandleader/songwriter Ric Ocasek’s supreme pop sensibilities, and you had an album that appealed to new wavers, rockers, and Top 40 fans. One of the most popular new wave songs ever, “Just What I Needed”, is an obvious highlight, as are such familiar hits as “Good Times Roll”, “My Best Friend’s Girl”, and “You’re All I’ve Got Tonight”. But like most consummate rock albums, the lesser-known compositions are just as exhilarating: “Don’t Cha Stop”, “Bye Bye Love”, “All Mixed Up”, and “Moving in Stereo”, the latter featured as an instrumental during a steamy scene in the popular movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High. With flawless performances, songwriting, and production (courtesy of Queen alumni Roy Thomas Baker), the Cars’ debut remains one of rock’s all-time classics.

01. Good Times Roll
02. My Best Friend’s Girl
03. Just What I Needed
04. I’m In Touch With Your World
05. Don’t Cha Stop
06. You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
07. Bye Bye Love
08. Moving In Stereo
09. All Mixed Up

Mastered by Shawn R. Britton at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Sebastopol, CA.

Continue reading »

Page 1 of 11