May 03

David Fenn – Titan Souls: Original Soundtrack (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:00:09 minutes | 519 MB | Genre: Score / Orchestral, Epic, Instrumental, Metal
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Steam | Artwork: Front Cover

Titan Souls is a 2015 action-adventure developed by UK-based indie studio Acid Nerve and published by Devolver Digital. It was released on April 14, 2015 on Windows, OS X, Playstation 4 and Playstation Vita. The Tian Souls is the spiritual source and sum of all living things between earth and the world beyond. You play a lone archer that is on a quest to find the Titan Souls as it has been scattered across the ruins guarded by the idle titans. It’s a strategic, open world, 2D top down action game and the twist is that you only got one weapon, an arrow, and yes, only allowed to fire one at a time. It’s the only arrow you got, and it’s got a boomerang effect so you always get it back after it hits the target. The score is composed by David Fenn who is also credited for writing the story.

The trailer used some epic music with choirs and everything and I wonder if that is reflected in the score. It opens with ‘Souls’ a nice laid back cue with flute, strings and guitar. Nothing epic about it, but really beautiful. It feels peaceful and part of a nice grassy world. The next cue ‘Titans’ is much more epic (but I wouldn’t call it that) with heavy percussion and horns, although it’s missing the choir. The motif itself is nice but forgettable. ‘Truth And Power’ is nicer with great percussion and mixing in a soft flute and hurried strings. The string motif is good too, and I really feel the action in conjunction with the percussion. ‘Between Our World & The World Beyond’ is a calmer cue and I feel like I enjoy the calmer cues the most. The action doesn’t feel epic enough to me, doesn’t have the right weight, although I think the percussion is great.

‘Legendary Titan Slayer’ is fun. It feels like I’m in the wild west the way the music is constructed with that trumpet coming in. The rhythm also has a western feel over it. I like it. In a way it’s like a wild west in dungeons. ‘Avarice’ is a shock, but in a great way. It’s a theme inspired by heavy metal with a couple of guitars. I totally didn’t expect that, but this is pretty good. ‘Forest Songs’ is a simple guitar and harp melody which I enjoy a lot. It has similar qualities as the opening cue ‘Souls’, but most of all, the melody is very catchy. ‘The Disgraced Guardian’ takes the heavy metal approach again, and it’s even better than before. Love it. It seems to continue with ‘Bomber’ and ‘Roller’ to some extent. Why isn’t the whole score like this? It’s awesome! Also, choir! In ‘The Forgotten Guardian’ they appear, although the rest of the music is so-so, the choir sure rocks. In ‘The Last Guardian’ the music takes a more epic for like I heard in the trailer with choir and stern militaristic scoring. The charm of ‘Souls’ reappear in ‘Epilogue’ with a perhaps more heroic element to the sound. This sound I love.

It’s a sort of unsatisfactory feeling I have as I play the last note of this score. I don’t know, I think my expectations didn’t match what I heard unfortunately. It could be epic, I love the heavy metal parts and also the lyrical softer parts, but in the middle of all this, there’s a bunch of cues I didn’t love or hate, just meh. I hope that this one can grow on me, and I plant to play the game so I would say that’s a big possibility.


01. Souls (01:38)
02. Titans (02:29)
03. Truth and Power (03:18)
04. Between Our World & the World Beyond (02:29)
05. Sludgeheart (01:57)
06. Brainfreeze (02:06)
07. The First Guardian (02:58)
08. Legendary Titan Slayer (03:15)
09. Elhanan’s Melody (02:16)
10. Avarice (01:54)
11. Winterbound (03:04)
12. Titanic (02:35)
13. Yeti Butts (02:06)
14. Stratus (02:16)
15. Forest Songs (02:27)
16. Obello (02:09)
17. Depths (02:08)
18. The Disgraced Guardian (02:12)
19. Bomber (01:40)
20. Roller (02:54)
21. The Elder (01:49)
22. The Forgotten Guardian (02:33)
23. The Last Guardian (02:03)
24. Final Battle (02:00)
25. Epilogue (02:37)
26. Credits (01:16)