May 09

High Risk (feat. Dave Douglas) – Dark Territory (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 40:13 minutes | 446 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Artwork: Digital booklet

Dark Territory is a collection of new music from the creative electronic-inspired ensemble High Risk. Following the success of the group’s eponymous release in 2015, this new album continues to explore the intersection of creative improvisation and modern electronic music production to create a unique sound that Pitchfork described as, “simultaneously chill and surprising, it’s the sound of a group discovering a valid language, and then proceeding to push the limits of that new aesthetic”.

Lead a highly experimental musician, two-time GRAMMY nominated trumpeter Dave Douglas, who’s has spent his career investigating sounds often far outside the acoustic jazz tradition, the album once again features Jonathan Maron (Groove Collective) on electric and acoustic bass, Mark Guiliana (Beat Music, Heernt, David Bowie) on electric and acoustic drums and DJ, producer and beatmaker Shigeto (Ghostly International) on electronics.

The material was recorded by five-time GRAMMY nominated Geoff Countryman (Dr. Luke, Patti LaBelle, Wu-Tang Clan, Randy Brecker, Gregory Porter, Fred Hersch) and mixed by Steve Wall (Semi Precious Weapons, Matisyahu, Meshell Ndegeocello), and mastered by Mark Wilder.

01 – Celine
02 – All The Pretty Horsepower
03 – Let’s Get One Thing Straight
04 – Mission Acropolis
05 – Ridge Hill
06 – Neural
07 – Loom Large

Dave Douglas – trumpet
Shigeto – electronics
Jonathan Maron – bass
Mark Guiliana – drums