Jul 05

Joe Chambers – Landscapes (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 59:56 minutes | 681 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Artwork: Front cover | © Savant

Ever since Joe Chambers made his recording debut on Freddie Hubbard’s classic LP, Breaking Point! he’s remained a nearly peerless jazz figure in terms of consummate musicianship. His career throughout the 1960s established Chambers as both a noteworthy hard-bop and avant-garde jazz drummer and as an intriguing composer, particularly through his partnership with vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson. Chambers released his debut LP, The Almoravid in 1974 for Muse Records. After recording several other releases for the Denon, Candid and Blue Note labels, Chambers reconnected with Muse’s Joe Fields in 2005 and released The Outlaw in 2006. Here on his newest disc Chambers reflects all of his well-honed talents as superb multi-instrumentalist, composer and bandleader.

Joe Chambers has always been one hell of a compelling artist – first famously as a drummer on important 60s modern sessions, but over the years also a tremendous leader, and a multi-instrumentalist whose work in a variety of settings never sounds gimmicky or forced at all! That quality really comes through here – as the record’s only a trio date, with Rick Germanson on piano and Ira Coleman on bass – yet Chambers runs through a huge range of moods on instruments that include drums, congas, bongos, vibes, marimba, and piano – sometimes played with overdubs that allow Joe to expand the sound in especially nice ways on some of the more Latin-styled tracks. Joe plays solo piano on the title “Landscapes”, and other trio tracks include “Samba De Marcatu”, “pas De Trois”, “Ecaroh”, “The Outlaw”, and “Havana”.

01 – Epistrophy
02 – The Outlaw
03 – Never Let Me Go
04 – Havana
05 – Samba de Maracatu
06 – Pas de Trois
07 – Airegin
08 – Ecaroh
09 – Underground (Railroad) System
10 – Landscapes