Jul 21

Lang Lang – Liszt: My Piano Hero (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:05:30 minutes | 0,97 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: Qobuz | @ Sony Classical
Recorded: April 23-28, 2011, Teldex Studio, Berlin, Germany (#1-10); June 4 & 5, 2011, Großer Saal, Musikverein, Vienna, Austria (#11-12)

To celebrate the 200th anniversary of Franz Liszt’s birth, virtuoso pianist Lang Lang has selected some of the composer’s most characteristic pieces for his 2011 Sony release, Liszt: My Piano Hero. Prominent on this album is the Piano Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, which features Lang Lang in a high-energy performance with Valery Gergiev and the Vienna Philharmonic. Without a doubt, most of Lang Lang’s fans will savor this Romantic showpiece, and for technical brilliance and drama, the performance doesn’t disappoint. He is especially lively and vivid in this work, and his interactions with the orchestra seem spontaneous and playful, as one might well imagine Liszt would have been. But Lang Lang seems more introspective and personally involved with the solo keyboard pieces that make up the greater part of the album. Here also is the flashy side of Liszt, but there is a greater emphasis on the poetic and rhapsodic, so Lang Lang indulges in reflective pieces as much as the flashy encores. Highlights include La Campanella, the Grand Galop chromatique, Liebestraum No. 3, the Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6, and the arrangement of Schubert’s Ave Maria. –AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson

Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886)
1 Romance “O pourquoi donc” in E Minor, S. 169 3:05
2 La campanella in G-Sharp Minor from Grandes études de Paganini, S. 141/3 4:47
3 Consolation No. 3 in D-Flat Major, S. 172 4:19
4 Grand Galop chromatique in E-Flat Major, S. 219 3:58
5 Liebestraum No. 3 in A-Flat Major, S. 541/3 4:53
6 Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6 in D-Flat Major, S. 244/6 7:19
7 Trois études de concert in D-Flat Major, S. 144/3: Un sospiro 5:26
8 Rakoczy March from Hungarian Rhapsody No. 15 in A Minor, S. 244/15 (Horowitz version) 5:43
9 Ave Maria, S. 558 6:31
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S 124
10 I. Allegro maestoso 5:47
11 II. Quasi adagio – Allegretto vivace – Allegro animato 9:33
12 III. Allegro marziale animato 4:09

Lang Lang, piano
Wiener Philharmoniker (#10-12)
Valery Gergiev, conductor (#10-12)