Jun 28

Linkin Park – The Hunting Party (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 45:06 minutes | 0,99 GB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | © Warner Bros. Records

The Hunting Party is American rock band Linkin Park’s sixth studio album. The band chose to depart from their recent electronic rock sound and simply produce a rock record. A year in the making, the record produced three singles: “Guilty All the Same”, “Until It’s Gone” and “Final Masquerade”.

Breaking away from Rick Rubin, with whom they had a three-album association, Brad Delson and Mike Shinoda co-produce this time around and retreat from the moody electronica that characterized many of those records. Instead, The Hunting Party is designed as a return to rock, evoking the group’s earliest records. Reconnecting with the past is a standard move for a heavy band 15 years into its career, but The Hunting Party is effectively aggressive, partially due to how far into the ether Linkin Park strayed on Living Things and, especially, A Thousand Suns. Written and recorded over the course of a year, The Hunting Party nevertheless packs a visceral punch. Hints of the murky, meditative darkness linger — especially on “Until It’s Gone,” which builds upon its atmosphere to reach melodramatic heights; “Final Masquerade” is subtler in its approach -– but there’s good reason why Page Hamilton and Tom Morello both guest on the record: this is a grinding, metallic workout. Far from sounding as if they’re grasping at straws, Linkin Park seem rejuvenated, proving there is value in the cliché of returning to roots.

01 – Keys To The Kingdom
02 – All For Nothing (feat. Page Hamilton)
03 – Guilty All The Same (feat. Rakim)
04 – The Summoning
05 – War
06 – Wastelands
07 – Until It’s Gone
08 – Rebellion (feat. Daron Malakian)
09 – Mark The Graves
10 – Drawbar (feat. Tom Morello)
11 – Final Masquerade
12 – A Line In The Sand

Producers: Brad Delson and Mike Shinoda. Recording engineer: Ethan Mates.
Recorded May 2013 – April 2014 at Larrabee Sound Studios and EastWest Studios in Los Angeles, California.

NOTE: Track “3” is a 44k recording mastered to 96/24.

Chester Bennington – vocals
Rob Bourdon – drums, percussion
Brad Delson – lead guitar
Dave “Phoenix” Farrell – bass guitar
Joe Hahn – turntables, sampling, programming
Mike Shinoda – vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards
Page Hamilton – vocals
Daron Malakian – guitar
Tom Morello – guitar
Rakim – vocals